FAA downgraded Malaysia’s aviation safety rating from Category 1 to Category 2…

The US Federal Aviation Administration has downgraded Malaysia’s aviation safety rating, restricting the country’s airlines from adding flights to the United States. The FAA downgraded Malaysia’s aviation safety rating from a Category 1 to a Category 2 effective from November 11, 2019. The downgrading restrict air carriers from Malaysia, including Malaysia Airlines and Air Asia from starting new services to United States, and do not allow reciprocal code-sharing arrangements between U.S. carriers and Malaysian carriers. The carriers would also be subject to additional inspections at U.S. airports. “FAA has found that the Civil Aviation Authority of Malaysia (CAAM) does not meet International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) safety standards and therefore has received a Category 2 rating based on a reassessment of the country’s civil aviation authority.” said the FAA In 2003, Malaysia was assigned a Category 1 rating, and conducted an in-country reassessment of Malaysia under the IASA program in April 2019, and met with the CAAM in July 2019 to discuss the results. Malaysia is listed under FAA Category 2 countries, of Bangladesh, Costa Rica, Curacao, Ghana, and Thailand, 


Welcome to crewroom


The Most Trusted Name In Aviation

Crewroom Magazine has affiliate partnerships so we may receive compensation for some links to products and services

Copyright Crewroom © 2017

Part of the CIBM Solutions Inc. Aviation News.
Powered by
Crewroom Magazine

Contact Us          Terms & Conditions          Privacy Policy